Heaven

It has been months since I have submitted a post. The first quarter of 2016 has been tough on me, if I’m being honest. I’ve had a few surgeries that I didn’t recover well from. I developed an infection after one of those surgeries and I still have intense jaw pain daily because of it. We’ve been dealing with some issues caused by Andy’s wreck which has caused me to not have a complete night’s sleep in well over a month.Β There are a few other trials that I’m personally going through that I’ll keep private for now. I share this not to throw myself a pity party or seek attention, but to express the deep exhaustion I have been dealing with and give a little wisdom.

To combat my fatigue, pain, and the struggle with my mental health I’ve turned back to the best therapy money cannot buy: running. I don’t want to sound cliche, I truly don’t. But the more I’ve gone for walks, jogs, or full out sprints these past couple of weeks I’ve been struck with a glimpse of what heaven might feel like.

When I’m alone on my run, my head is clear. I feel the heat and sunshine of my beautiful city. I hear the chirping of birds early in the morning. I see the green grass and blooming flowers in my neighborhood. My heart pounds heavy in my chest. Figuratively and literally, my breath is taken away.

My sense of doubt is gone. I feel full. My guards are down. I feel free.

I’ll never know just what heaven is like until I’m standing there. But while I’m on earth, I’ll continue to let running save me.

Let Us Run

7 thoughts on “Heaven

  1. I’m so sorry you are struggling now Lesley but hopefully the worst is behind you. I agree that running can be very cathertic and it helps me too during life struggles/difficulties.

  2. Thanks Kathryn! We are trying to get answers to some medical concerns and that is extremely stressful. I’m so thankful that running is an easy way to clear everything out of your head and feel refreshed!

Leave a Reply

