How I’m Losing Weight

Most of you know how my fitness journey has been since October 2013. For those of you who are new around here (thanks for stopping by!), at that time I weighed 216 pounds and was ready to shape up. Years before, I vowed to one day become a runner and cross the finish line at runDisney’s Princess Half Marathon. I decided that October that I was tired of waiting. I trained my butt off and lost a ton of weight. I was in the best shape of my life and registered to run the Princess in February 2014.

This pic was used as a before and after last year. It served as a great motivator to keep running and working out when it became difficult!

This pic was used as a before and after during that time period. It served as a great motivator then and even more so now. I know what my body can do. On days when I don’t want to push myself I look at this and remind myself of what I’m capable of doing.

For those of you who don’t know, I ran the Princess Half while I was pregnant! Andrew and Connor were in a very serious car accident just 7 months prior to the race. Couple both of those things together and you know what happened: I gained weight.

Sorry folks, I’m not sharing the numbers quite yet (but those details will come soon, promise)! Dawson was born October 6th, 2014. Once my doctor gave me the green light to exercise again, I focused on losing the baby weight. I’ve lost the 33 pounds that I gained with him. In addition to that, I’ve lost an additional 13 pounds for a total of 46 pounds since late November 2014. So, how have I done it so far? Remember, I’m not a doctor. I do not work in the health industry at all. I try to run 3 times a week and cross train at the YMCA every other day. These tips are in addition to that and they have truly helped me, and I hope they help you. Of course, consult a physician before you begin any new exercise/weight loss plan.

1: WATER- I guzzle water all day long. I started out drinking 3 of these huge bottles of water a day, and I’m now up to 5 a day. I re-fill this bottle constantly at work and at home. The only other thing I’ll drink is orange juice and an occasional chocolate milk (my favorite post-run treat). Cutting out soft drinks was horrible on my body for about 2 solid weeks. I literally went through withdrawals. I had a constant migraine, I was grumpy, I didn’t have energy, I got acne, I was bloated, I had cravings and would catch myself shaking. You know what happened after those 2 weeks? I stepped on the scales and had lost 10 pounds. JUST from cutting out soft drinks. All of the side effects went away. I constantly crave water now. I don’t add any mix-ins, but a few of my friends prefer to add fruit or use flavor packs.

Screen Shot 2015-07-15 at 11.51.35 PM

Yummy!

2: Gear- You don’t need to go into debt to lose weight. You can easily buy workout gear for bargain prices. In fact, this tip might be one some of you skip. But, I’ve found that I become more motivated to exercise when I have fun new gear to use. Every single thing I’ve bought for exercise has been on sale or I received as a gift on holidays. When I reach one of my weight loss goals, I’ll treat myself with a new top from Raw Threads, a headband from BAMR Bands or new running shoes. In fact, I’m buying myself another pair of running shoes when I reach my mini-goal #2 (I’m only 7 pounds away)! This is a fun way to stay motivated. I also like to support brands that support my desire to be a better me!

Screen Shot 2015-07-16 at 12.08.00 AM

Some of my favorites: Victoria’s Secret exercise pants (free from Influenester), Old Navy tanks and Tech Shirts (clearance), Raw Threads “Be Strong, Every Day” tank (discount Facebook group-NEW), Girls on the Run Tech Shirt (free-I was a SoleMate), Garmin and BIO-FREEZE (discount at RunIn for being a Y member), New Balance Cross Training shoes (birthday gift), Brooks (Christmas gift), Brooks (I bought this pair for reaching a weight loss goal, discount at RunIn for being a Y member), and KT Tape (on clearance at BI-LO for $3.99). See? It doesn’t have to be expensive to use gear as motivation to lose weight, and get in shape!

3: Accountability- Without a doubt, I have the best friends on the planet! To use a phrase that is way overused in my southern state, I’m “so blessed” to have the friends I have. I joke about that phrase, but it is so true. I’m very lucky. My friends know my struggles. They were my friends when I was at my lowest and heaviest weights. They’ve waited for me at finish lines. They’ve listened to me cry when I’ve felt defeated. My friends keep me encouraged, motivated and hold me accountable. They count on me to show them support, and inspire them to better their lives. I count on them to do the same for me. I am a better person when I have my friends by my side. When I started this journey years ago, I made an effort to distance myself from those in my life who were less than encouraging. Some were oddly competitive, while others were obsessed with comparing their own fitness endeavors to mine. I encourage my readers to weed out the negative seeds in your life. Hold your genuine friendships close to your heart. Those friends will help you when you want to give up on yourself. They’ll encourage you and cheer for you. Do the same for them. I promise you that your entire fitness journey will become even better once you make your relationships the best they can be! Who knows, they may be like my friends and be crazy enough to “run all the races” with you!

Screen Shot 2015-07-16 at 12.37.50 AM

July 4th, 2015-Red, White and Blue Shoes 5K with my friends Robin, my hubby, Lisa, Kayla and Michael. (Not pictured: Erica, Renee and Matt-They didn’t run this race but they deserve a mention as well. I’m forever grateful that I get to call y’all my friends!

4. Document- I use a white board to write down the exercise I did for each day. This helps me push myself further each week. It is also helps motivate me to run when I log my milage because I want to increase my milage by 10% each week. When you put what you have done in black and white, it’s impossible to ignore both your progress, as well as what you haven’t done. When my white board sits empty, I know it’s time to get back to work. It provides immediate accountability.

Screen Shot 2015-07-16 at 1.49.04 PM

I keep this little white board on my refrigerator. It also helps me when I go to reach for not-so-healthy food.

5. Weigh-In Wednesday- Every Wednesday morning, I wake up, use the restroom, take off all of my clothes and step onto the scale. I post to social media if I’ve gained weight, lost weight or stayed the same that week. Social media is great for accountability and is a fun way to look back and see my progress.

Screen Shot 2015-07-16 at 1.54.15 PM

These are just a few things that I think have helped me lose weight this time around. In upcoming posts, I’ll make sure to share further pointers that could also help you on your fitness journey.

Leave a Reply

