“Non-Fried” Chicken

Our family doesn’t eat a lot of fried foods. We don’t necessarily restrict ourselves and keep fried foods out of our diet on purpose, we just prefer to grill. Recently, I was craving fried chicken but wanted to find a “healthier” alternative. I searched Pinterestย and found a recipe that I remembered from my childhood. I tweaked it slightly and boy, was it YUMMY!

1ST

No butter, no oil and no greasy kitchen required for this recipe!

You will need milk, Corn Flakes (any brand will do), shredded cheese (I used sharp cheddar), 1 egg and chicken (I cut breasts into bite sized pieces). I made an assembly line with all of the ingredients (as pictured below) to make the cooking and cleaning process easier.

2ND

Left to right: Chicken, Milk with an egg, salt & pepper, cheese, crushed cereal and a baking dish sprayed with no stick cooking spray.

I cut the breasts into pieces, then dipped each piece into the milk mixture.

3RD

No exact measurement is required for this step. I just added more milk if I started to run out.

Then, each piece of chicken got a nice coating of cheese.

4TH

I used my fingers for this step so the cheese would stick better.

Next, the chicken took a roll in the crushed cereal.

This creates the crust and will give you the crispy coating that you find in fried chicken.

This creates the crust and will give you the crispy coating that you find in fried chicken.

Once all the chicken went through the assembly line, I placed them in the baking sheet.

I only used 2 chicken breasts and look at how much this made! We had plenty left over!

I only used 2 chicken breasts and look at how much this made! We had plenty left over!

I baked the chicken for about 30 minutes at 375 degrees. While it baked, I cleaned up the kitchen. This recipe left little mess behind and was a breeze to clean up, as opposed to cleaning up after frying chicken.

Finished!

Finished!

The kitchen smelled amazing while this cooked. As you can see in the above picture, the chicken was moist, tender and the crust was perfectly crunchy. I was worried the coating would fall off but the milk and egg made for a perfect “binder”, keeping the crust and chicken together.

8TH

I served the chicken with lima beans and corn. My family definitely went back for second helpings and we ate the leftovers the next day. I highly recommend this easy recipe. It is a quick and yummy alternative to fried chicken and in my opinion tastes a lot better too!

Do you like to make healthy alternatives of “unhealthy” foods? Have you tried a recipe similar to this before? How did you like it?

Leave a Reply

