Edisto Day 3

Before reading Day 3, check out these other installments if you would like to read them in order. I have a video, along with Day 1 and Day 2.

We all slept in this morning and slowly made our way out to the beach. I settled into a chair so that I could finish my Nicholas Sparks book. I looked out over the ocean to see Connor and Andy playing. Right behind them I saw a fin break the service of the water. My sister saw it too and we both jumped out of our seats to yell at them to get out. But, before we could say a word, several fins popped out of the water. The guys were just a few feet from a large group of dolphins! We usually see one or two each summer but this was the first time that any of us had been so close to that many. Connor thought it was awesome of course!

swim with dolphins 2

 

ley reading

We spent all day in the sun. I read and went for a short walk checking for turtle nests. Everyone else spent time getting tan and enjoying the water and fun.

floats in water

My mom, sister and Connor loved lounging on the floats in the ocean.

Connor had a blast when his Poppy (my stepdad) taught him how to fly a kite. I love the picture of the both of them below:

with poppy

After spending most of the day in the sand and sun, we all showered and got ready for dinner. My mom and stepdad made an antipasti platter, smoked salmon, stuffed shell pasta (my sister and I don’t eat seafood) and pizza for the kids.

antipasta

By the time I took this picture the food was half eaten. Sorry!

dinner

 

These boys are precious. I love them so!

These boys are precious. I love them so!

salmon

After dinner all of the guys crashed! They were exhausted from the sun.

sleepy boys

So, us girls decided to play a game we haven’t even seen since we were kids-Clue! Believe it or not, we had a blast playing it too! At least, the girls did. We convinced Bradley to play it and he hated every second of it. He couldn’t understand how both of his sister were beating him. He seemed to forget that we had many more years experience playing board games than he had. It was pretty cute.

clue

Our first couple of days were almost identical. We slept late, spent time in the sun, ate well and finished our nights with a board game or puzzle. The next day we did a few new things, so be on the lookout for my day 4 recap!

What are your favorite things to do during family vacations? 

Leave a Reply

