Pregnancy Update: Week 38!

I am 38 weeks + 5 days today! I am due to have Dawson next Saturday! I have a hard time believing it, but my little boy is almost here! I am still at 1cm, baby’s head is down and my cervix is softening.

38 weeks

Weight Gain: I went to the doctor yesterday and found out that I’ve lost 2 pounds in 7 days. That brings my total to 28 pounds. She said she wasn’t worried about it because many women lose a little bit right before delivery. This did not happen with Connor so I was a little bit surprised. I’ve tried to not be too stressed about weight gain during this pregnancy but I have been secretly hoping that I wouldn’t gain 50 like I did with Connor. With one week left to go before my due date I certainly don’t think that will happen!

Cravings: This still varies day to day. I have been craving ice cold glass bottled Coke almost daily. I am trying to to limit my intake of it but man, it is so good!

Aversions: I’m still a little grossed out by a few smells. That’s about it.

The Good: We are ready for Dawson. The car is clean, car set was installed last month, his nursery is ready, bags are packed, etc. I can make out his body parts when he moves now. Andy and our friend were able to feel his foot next to my ribs on Tuesday night. Anyone can easily hear his heartbeat just by putting their head on my belly.

The Bad: I haven’t slept for a full night in over a week. I have had terrible insomnia. I stay up past midnight and then I’m wide awake around 4. I’ve tried reading, a relaxing bath, avoiding caffeine at night and nothing is working. I also have tremendous pressure “down there”. Trying to put pants on is very difficult. I was so flexible before this trimester and now it takes so much time just to get dressed. Acne has come back with a vengeance. My chin hasn’t looked so red or inflamed since high school. However, that ‘s a sign that he is coming (at least in my eyes) because the same thing happened when I was about a week out from having Connor.

Baby’s Size: My app says, “He weighs about 6.8 pounds and he is over 19 1/2 inches long (about the size of a leekbabycenter.com).

One thought on “Pregnancy Update: Week 38!

Leave a Reply

