Pumpkin Puree

I have been craving homemade pancakes and for some reason I wanted to try my hand at homemade pumpkin pancakes for Andy (he loves pumpkin and I enjoy experimenting with new recipes for him). I went to The Pioneer Woman’s website to see if she had a recipe for pumpkin puree. Do any of y’all watch her on Food Network? She can be a little over the top but her recipes are so yummy! I knew that I wouldn’t need a lot of pumpkin for his pancakes so I planned on saving any extra puree to use as Dawson’s baby food (it’ll keep frozen for 6 months or longer). First, I bought two baby pumpkins for less than $3 each at Bi-Lo.

pumpkin1

I did some pumpkin “research” and apparently the smaller pumpkins are less stringy than the bigger ones and are suggested for cooking. Most websites said to leave big pumpkins for carving.

Once I got home, I preheated the oven to 350 degrees. Next, I cut the tops off of the pumpkins. I would suggest using a good knife with a serrated edge for all of the pumpkin cutting.

pumpkin2

If you notice, the standing pumpkin has a bit of a “bruise” on it. I later cut that part out and discarded it. Next, I cut both pumpkins in half.

pumpkin3

Then, I scrapped out all of the seeds and as much of the strings as I could. Afterward, I cut each half into thirds.

pumpkin4

Some people may want to save the seeds to toast but we don’t really eat them, so they went in the trash.

After cutting the pumpkin into pieces I put them on a cookie sheet. Now, here is where you can have fun spicing the pumpkin up a bit. I left one pumpkin plain so that it would be a true pumpkin taste for Dawson. However, I dressed the second pumpkin up some. I poured a little bit of vegetable oil on it (I was out of olive oil, which I would have preferred to use), and sprinkled on equal parts brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg. I read that this is a great way to introduce your baby to seasonings and spices.

pumpkin7

See the leftover strings on most of the pieces? They were easier to get off once the pumpkins had been roasted.

I put them in the oven and set the timer for 45 minutes. Our kitchen smelled absolutely amazing! There is no reason for a Fall candle when you make this recipe. It definitely got us in the Fall spirit! While they were cooking, I labeled storage bags with the date, amount and whether it was spiced or plain pumpkin.

pumpkin13

This recipe made 2 1/2 cups of puree but it would have been more had I not thrown the bruised part away. I would say each pumpkin gave about 1 1/2 cups each.

Once the timer was off I tried to peel the pumpkin away from the skin but it was just too hot. It was much easier to do after letting it cool for about 5 minutes. Andy tried a piece of the pumpkin at this point and thought it was very good.

pumpkin8

I then ran a knife behind the skin and the pumpkin easily slid right off. I found that a butter knife made this step very easy. I put all of the chunks of the plain pumpkin in the food processor first and when I was finished with that batch I made the spiced pumpkin so that they weren’t mixed.

pumpkin10

pumpkin11

My mom and step-dad gave us our food processor several Christmases ago and it is a wonderful appliance to have in the kitchen. If you do not have one I highly suggest purchasing one. Especially if you have little kids in the house. It makes cooking baby food so easy and gets the job done in no time!

I gave the pumpkin a good pulse in the machine and noticed that it was a little dry. I put a teaspoon full of water in at a time until it was the right consistency. Then, I measured the puree and put it in the appropriate labeled bag.

pumpkin14

pumpkin15

I repeated this process with the spiced pumpkin. Once the bags were filled, I pushed the air out and stuck them in the freezer.

pumpkin16

The most time consuming part of this recipe was the 45 minutes that the pumpkin roasted. It is a very easy recipe and aside from the baking time, it really is quick. Pumpkin has many health benefits, including this list from Huffington Post. This recipe is a great way to make sure that my family (and newest addition) will be getting the vitamins and nutrition that they need. If you would like to read more about being fit and eating foods that will help you lead a healthy life check out #TheFitDish linkup every Tuesday!

Have you ever made your own baby food? What baby foods do you like to make? Why do you choose to make your own baby food? If you didn’t, what kept you from making your own?

12 thoughts on “Pumpkin Puree

  1. I love pumpkin in almost EVERYTHING! Especially in the fall. I haven’t busted out any pumpkin recipes yet, but I did buy some canned pumpkin this past weekend so it will come soon. πŸ˜‰

  2. I made butternut squash baby food for our daughter. She loved it! I keep seeing all sorts of recipes that include pumpkin! I may be making something with pumpkin very soon! Thanks for sharing!

  3. That’s amazing! And look at me just buying cans all the time!! I can’t WAIT until I can make baby food!! (Baby fever over here… haha) Thanks for linking up! I’m looking forward to following you!!

  4. You are am amazing mom! And, I can’t even imagine how great your house must have smelled….10 times better than any candle, EVER! Just because of THAT, I want to cook this, and the pumpkin to eat would be a bonus! : ) Thanks for sharing! Hope to see you next week!

Leave a Reply

