Easy Chicken Quesadillas

The recipe that I am sharing today is something that we “accidentally” created a few weeks ago and it is delicious! I was planning on cooking fajitas one day and then I started to tweak this ingredient and that ingredient and what I created became the best Chicken Quesadillas I’ve ever had! I usually make this early in the week and store the chicken in the refrigerator. I will make a quick lunch sometimes with it or an easy dinner. I even used leftovers to make Andy a yummy omelette this past weekend! You can always use different toppings and adjust the recipe to your family’s liking. 

You will need:

Chicken breasts (2 will last us about 3 days), shredded cheese (we use a Mexican blend), tortillas, black beans, corn, taco seasoning and a jar of salsa (I use mild)

Coat your crock pot with non-stick cooking spray. Turn the setting to your preference (LOW if you need it cooked in about 4 hours, LOW if you need it cooked in 6-8 hours). Add chicken, salsa and taco seasoning. Mix and cover.

Looks kind of odd, but it is relish!

Looks kind of odd, but it is delicious!

Once the chicken is cooked through and fork tender I shred it. Then add everything into a storage container. Make sure you include all of the liquid that is left in the Crock Pot. This will keep the chicken moist and flavorful.

The leftovers are even better than the day you cook it!

The leftovers are even better than the day you cook it!

This chicken mixture will serve as your base for the quesadillas. You can easily through this into other dishes, like an omelette as I mentioned before. Heat your skillet and add a little oil of your choice (butter or olive oil is fine). Add your tortilla shell. Sprinkle cheese one one side, add chicken, then toppings (I used black beans and corn). Fold over and flip until both sides are brown and cheesy.

Try other toppings too! Jalapeños are a great addition-or so Andy says!

Try other toppings too! Jalapeños are a great addition-or so Andy says!

Here is a picture of the omelette I made Andy when I surprised him with breakfast in bed on Sunday:

Salsa chicken omelette with sour cream, jalapeños and hot sauce. Fresh fruit, chocolate muffin and a serving of milk!

Salsa chicken omelette with sour cream, jalapeños and hot sauce. Fresh fruit, chocolate muffin and a serving of milk!

I hope you enjoy this quick and easy meal just as much as we do!

Leave a Reply

