Blueberry Muffins

A few nights ago I was in the mood to bake. I wanted to make a sweet treat for Andy specifically to surprise him whenever he came home from work. Before I share this recipe I want to put out there that I originally found this recipe from Paula Deen. I tweaked it a little bit but this may or may not be the healthiest recipe for blueberry muffins. We believe in eating different foods in moderation. It is ok to have a slice of pie occasionally. We don’t believe in depriving yourself of something because you (or at least we have) end up giving into that temptation way worse than you would have if you “allowed” yourself a sampling. Andrew did not diet when he prepared for his half marathons. I did not diet when I lost a lot of weight. We hope you enjoy this recipe as much as he did. I have a few suggestions for additions at the bottom of the recipe for you!

You will need:

ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 tablespoons baking powder

1/2 cup sugar (plus enough to sprinkle later)

1 stick unsalted butter, melted

1 egg, slightly beaten

3/4 cup whole milk

1 1/2 cups fresh blueberries (We picked ours last month so they were frozen. I let them thaw.)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Place cupcake tins in muffin pan and spray with non-stick spray. In one bowl combine the dry ingredients (flour, baking powder and sugar). In a separate bowl combine the wet ingredients (butter, egg and milk). *Make sure butter has cooled so as not to cook the egg.

mix seperate

Pour the wet mixture into the bowl with the dry ingredients. Stir both mixtures together gently. It is ok if a few lumps are noticeable. The mixture will be a little sticky and resemble cookie dough.

mixed

 

Add the blueberries and lightly fold them in.

add berries

 

Spoon mixture into the tins. I had mine almost full. 

in pan

 

Bake for 10 minutes. Sprinkle sugar over each muffin. (The amount is up to you. I used very little.) Place back into oven and cook for an additional 12 minutes or until the tops are golden brown. I was able to make 24 muffins with this recipe.

I only made 12 for that night so I froze the leftover dough to make at a later date.

frozen

*I do not eat blueberries so I did not try this recipe. However, my husband loved it. He said it wasn’t too sweet and was just right. He thinks it is a good source of carbs that your body needs in the morning. He especially liked having the “super food” blueberries inside.

I plan on using the dough as a “base” for muffins that I make in the future. I am making the recipe again this week with chocolate chips and flax for me. In the fall I plan on making this with pumpkin, nutmeg and cinnamon. The additions are endless! This recipe really took no time to make and I had every single ingredient on hand. It is a great little treat to quickly make for someone for a holiday or to wish them a good morning. I hope you enjoy making these and eating them as well!

Leave a Reply

