Father’s Day Fun!

As today’s title suggests, we had a big bunch of fun on Father’s Day!

Our alarm went off yesterday morning, telling us it was time to get ready for church. Connor and I told Andy to stay in bed while we put his gifts together in a bag. Inside the bag we surprised him with Elixir Blue CologneΒ and Premium Shave Cream, both from Bath & Body Works. We also bought him a bow tie. He has only worn them as a groomsmen at weddings. I think they look good on the right people so I bought him one to try on.

bow tie

I think he rocks the bow tie!

He received many compliments on his look at church this morning! Both of my boys looked pretty darn cute, I think! Yesterday I went shopping with my mom and found the cutest Spider Man baby socks for Dawson. I put those in Andrew’s gift bag too. His big gift was actually given to him on Friday night. I bought a bench one of our very good friends made for Andy using pallets.

bench

If you are interested in buying one contact me! I can give your my friend’s info. His benches are custom made and are very high quality!

We have been visiting a church for a while that is next to Krispy Kreme. We have a tradition of grabbing a donut before or after church any time we visit. We met some of our friends for breakfast and enjoyed a donut or two. Then we went to church. The music was incredible and one of the things that we like about the church. The message was very good, especially for Father’s Day. The church held a giveaway for a $100 gift card to Cabela’s. Guess who one of the winners were…

cabelas

Woo Hoo!

Yep, that handsome guy! We were super surprised and very grateful. We’ve never shopped at Cabela’s but we have heard very good things about it. A huge thank you to the church for hosting a fun giveaway for a special day. We spent some time chatting with our friends after church and then Andy, Connor and I went to lunch at Tablefields.

Tablefields

My Parmesan Crusted Chicken with Yukon Gold Mashed Potatoes. Andy’s pizza with goat cheese, caramelized onions, pesto and white wine vinaigrette. Connor’s cheese pizza and chocolate and peanut butter cake to share for dessert.

After lunch we came home, rested on the couch, watched a little television and I whipped up a quick blueberry cobbler to take to my mom’s for dinner. My sister and her fiancee met us at my mom and step-dad’s for a celebratory dinner. They made yummy steaks, baked potatoes, salad, baked beans, sautΓ©ed mushrooms and roasted corn. For dessert my mom made homemade ice cream and we had a ton of toppings for a perfect ice cream sundae bar, including my blueberry cobbler.

The dad’s exchanged gifts and then the men fixed drinks and went outside for a few cigars. Andy hasn’t had one in over 2 years. 1 year was because he was training for his races and didn’t think running and cigars mixed well. Then after his accident I admittedly put my foot down and told him there was no way I would let him near a cigar with his lung injuries. He agreed that it was best for his health. However, I told him that with his wreck being nearly a year away that I thought one was fine-if he promised to use his incentive spirometer when we got home. So, he enjoyed his time with the guys while the children played inside and the ladies had ice cream and talked about upcoming family plans.

GREAT DAY

With my handsome men!

Yesterday was a wonderful day! This is Andrew’s last Father’s Day with Connor as his only son. I believe that we made every second of the day count and really enjoyed it. We hope all of you enjoyed your day as well!

 

Leave a Reply

