Thank you, Connor!

Image

Connor was born seven years ago today, at 10:12 a.m. All mom’s say it, but Connor truly is a special child. So often Andrew and I look at him for inspiration and we both strive to have a heart as accepting and loving as his. He wants to become like us when he grows up, but little does he know that we want to become more like him as we continue to “grow up.” Below is a letter that I wrote to Connor today, with several photos of my little man thrown in. Enjoy!

Connor,

Thank you for letting me be your mother. I was a very young woman when you came into this world, and you gave me all of your heart and trust. In some ways, the three of us grew up together and I treasure that unique bond that we will only share with you. Thank you for loving me. I adore every ounce of you. You are my “goose”, “hamster”, “Freddie” and a million other nicknames you’ve collected.

Thank you for teaching me to love unconditionally. You taught me the importance of family. You make your Dad and I so proud of our family every single day. 

Thank you for not being embarrassed by me. You still hug and kiss me every day when I pick you up from school. When I unexpectedly show up at your school to have lunch, you greet me by running toward me and giving me kisses. You’ll never ever know what that means to your mother.

Image

Thank you for always seeing the good in people. For not being afraid to cry when moments call for it. For knowing how to comfort and console. Thank you for being wise beyond your years and for being so understanding. Thank you for being an excellent role model for all of your little cousins.

Image

Thank you for being such a hard worker. I love that you found your talents at an early age and you strive to make them better. You are so good at running. You have wanted to become a police officer for the past four years and you are an amazing artist and storyteller. Thank you for sharing your many gifts with us. I so enjoy looking over your endless doodles in all of my notebooks!

Image

Thank you for being so excited about my pregnancy. You are the biggest reason that our family is growing. We want more children because of the wonderful child we already have. We know that you are the perfect person for our little baby to look up to. We trust you to be a positive influence on your future siblings, because you have such a positive influence over us.

Thank you for loving Christ. You already have such an unwavering faith. You are curious and enjoy learning about God. I love your endless questions when you get home from Church. I enjoy hearing you tell others about Jesus.

I am so thankful that I get to call you my son forever and ever. I love you. Thank you for being you. “Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.” ― Dr. SeussHappy Birthday to You! 

Image

3 thoughts on “Thank you, Connor!

  1. What a lovely letter to your young son Lesley. I am excited about your news…another baby will have a special home with your wonderful family!

Leave a Reply

