Favorite Things

Happy Friday! We woke up to a wonderful cool, crisp, autumn day this morning – a perfect way to start out the weekend. We have a run this weekend, a birthday to celebrate (Andrew’s), and we’re pumped about it all. Here are a few of our favorite things lately:

1. Clemson TigersΒ 

We’re Clemson fans in this house, and when its football season, we like to set up shop on the couch and relax to watch their games. When the leaves are falling, the Tigers are playing, and it is one of our favorite times of year. Clemson is having a good season right now. Ranked No. 3 in the nation, they take on No. 5 Florida State on Saturday in a nationally televised primetime game on ABC. ESPN Gameday, the iconic pre-game show, will be broadcasting live from Clemson Saturday morning. While many friends and family are going, we’ll be doing what we usually – enjoying the game from the comfort of our home. There was once a time when we used to go to every single home Clemson game, but that just got too tiresome. Clemson games are all-day events, and frankly, going to the game and then recuperating from them the next day were completely becoming time vampires to our weekends. So we’ll have a huge group of friends at our house to watch the Clemson game with us on Saturday night. The chicken chili will be hot, the drinks will be cold, and good times will be had. Win or lose, watching Clemson games with friends and family is a tradition we’ll always cherish in our family.

2. The Love Dare For Parents

love dare

 

I (Lesley) have wanted to get this book for awhile. Years ago, Andy and I did the original Love Dare. I was excited to find out that they made a parent addition, and I bought the book last week. I have enjoyed it so far. I have found myself doing the “dares” on my nephews as well. Though my intention was to use this book to challenge myself as a parent, I believe it will be beneficial to me as someone who works in the Children’s Ministry. The challenges can be applied to all children that I come in contact with, and I am already seeing the benefits of this book after only reading 5 days worth of dares.

3. Uptown Art

As part of Andy’s birthday week, I planned a date for us at Uptown ArtΒ tonight.Β We have never done anything like this before, so we are excited to try something new. For those of you unfamiliar with Uptown Art, it is a painting studio that offers classes at a reasonable price. You can bring a snack and drink (most people bring wine, I think we might be the only people there with bottled water!) and they provide the paint, apron, and canvas. As creative as I think I am with sewing and other projects, I can admit that I am terrible at painting. Andrew, however, took an art class in college and was surprising talented in it. I’m expecting his to turn out gorgeous, while mine will probably be thrown in the trash.

 

Art, football, birthday, and family time – it should be a pretty darn good weekend. What will you be doing this weekend?

Leave a Reply

