Product Review – Brooks Pureflow 2

As you know, Lesley and I recently ran the Tower of Terror 10-Miler at Walt Disney World. I knew before the race that I probably needed some new kicks – the FILA’s I’d bought from Rackroom in December were not specifically designed running shoes, and they’d been worn out. Putting hundreds of road miles on a pair of regular athletic shoes can spell trouble, and after the 10-miler, I noticed some significant pain and discomfort in the metatarsal region of my right foot. Lesley put her foot down – it was time to look at some new running shoes. Thanks in part to my mother-in-law, who provided some cash for my upcoming birthday, I was able to recently purchase the Brooks Pureflow 2. 

Image

 

The Pureflow 2 is part of Brooks’ “Pure Project,” a new collection of lightweight running shoes that includes the Puregrit 2 (trail shoe), Purecadence 2 (road shoe), Pureconnect 2 (minimal, lightweight racer), and the Puredrift 2 (the lightest weight road shoe). 

The Pureflow 2 is fairly similar to the Purecadence 2, except that the Purecadence is designed specifically for those need some more corrective stability due to arch issues or pronation. When I went into Run In, they examined my feet and my posture and determined that I needed a neutral shoe – essentially that I didn’t pronate and that my arches were in pretty standard position.

I’ve now been able to run in these shoes a couple of times, and can tell you I’m plenty happy with them. While there have been some criticisms that this shoe is narrower and less comfortable than its predecessor, the PF 1, I have found the toebox to be more than generous. Essentially, this shoe is exactly what is marketed to be – an incredibly lightweight road race shoe that provides the performance of a minimalist shoe with the stability needed for longer distances. For a lightweight shoe, the PF2’s cushioning is unbelievable. It has a healthy, comfortable recoil stride for stride that helps launch you into your run (what they market as the product’s “BioMoGo DNA midsole”), has enough support near the calcaneus and talus bones at the base of the foot to make long distance (half, full marathons) running a reality, and enough room for the distal end of your foot in order to accommodate the natural swelling that takes place in your feet during a long run. 

It does appear that the shoe’s outsole might not be great for running on a slippery road surface – which is one of the most common criticisms of the shoe. 

They will last roughly 300 miles of road racing, per the shoe experts at Run In – well worth the $98. They also boast some slick exterior design updates, including an asymmetrical lacing that makes the shoe’s appearance pop.  

I will be wearing the Pureflow 2 at a 5K this Saturday, and I am aiming to PR. Overall, weighing the price and the features of this product, I’d strongly recommend not only the PF2, but anything in the Brooks line, as Lesley is very pleased with her new Brooks Adrenaline GTS 13’s. 

 

Leave a Reply

