Healthy Food Staples

Part of being physically fit is obviously maintaining a healthy diet, but eating right goes beyond your three major meals of the day. We have complied a list of just a few of our “food staples.” We always have these items in our house and we are always finding new ways to use them in our diet. Making sure you have these food items at our house is a great way to ensure that you will make good snack decisions.

Bananas

Image

I absolutely love bananas. I try to be careful with how often I eat them because they are a trigger for my migraines. However, they are a great recovery food after a good run or workout. I read that they help with cramping post workout/run and at least for me, that is the case. We like them just as they are, in a smoothie and I LOVE a good banana sandwich with toasted bread and peanut butter.

Greek Yogurt

Image

I’m fairly new to being a yogurt fan. I always wanted to like yogurt but every time I would try Connor’s I just didn’t like the consistency. However, CHOBANIย Flip is amazing! My favorite is Almond Coco Loco. I really like the almond slivers and chocolate chunks. I like the bite in it and the flavor is just great. I’ve tried Key Lime Crumbleย as well and it is also good. The Flip brand has been a little difficult to find and my local stores only carry about 3 flavors so I haven’t been able to try very many-hopefully I will find new ones soon. Since trying this kind I have now started eating yogurt that has a smoother consistency, but my forever favorite will always be Almond Coco Loco.

Flax Seed

Image

Milled flax seed is great for baking treats like granola bars and other energy-boosting snacks. It’s also a great additive for oatmeal – sprinkle a little in with your breakfast, and you’ll ensure proper digestion, and also get a nice shot of minerals, vitamins, and Omega 3 fatty acids.

Grapes

IMG_20130928_090639-1

If you’re looking for a quick, sweet pick-me-up, then grapes are a great option. They have natural sugars, some b-vitamins, and are heart healthy. For a cold dessert, try frozen grapes!

What are some healthy food items you keep around your home? Tell us in the comments section!

One thought on “Healthy Food Staples

  1. I’ve recently jumped on the Greek yogurt train too. I don’t like it plain, and the flavored stuff often has so much sugar in it that I don’t think it’s worth it for me to try to force myself to eat it. BUT I get the nonfat kind and add it to food and it’s amazing.

    Oh, and I love grapes, so I’m with you on that one!

Leave a Reply

