What’s For Dinner?

I’m so excited to share one of our new favorite recipes with all of you! I found a recipe on Pinterestย for Pepper, Steak, & Onions that I tweaked a bit and decided to try it out last night. This is a perfect “comfort food” that doesn’t include any creams, soups, or butter. I especially liked this meal because it was a great way for me to get some veggies in my diet – something I really struggle with. It also really tastes like it was cooked in a Crock-Pot, but instead it is a one pot stove top dish.

You will need:

1 1/2 pounds sirloin steak (cut into 1/2 in. strips)

paprika

2 garlic cloves, crushed

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 cup sliced onions (I used white)

2 sweet bell peppers, cut in strips (I used green & yellow)

2 large tomatoes, diced

1 cup beef broth

1/4 water

2 tablespoons flour

2 tablespoons soy sauce

3 cups hot cooked rice (optional)

Image

Dredge the pepper steak in paprika on both sides and set aside.

Image

Prepare all of your other ingredients. Cut peppers and onions into strips that are similar in size. Dice tomatoes and crush the garlic cloves.

Image

Image

Cut the steak into strips. Over medium heat, cook steak and garlic in the olive oil until the meat is brown. Remove the crushed garlic. Add onions and peppers; continue cooking until the peppers and onions begin to wilt.

Image

At this point your kitchen will begin to smell AMAZING! I couldn’t resist trying a piece of the steak after taking this picture and Andrew and I loved it. We knew this was going to be a yummy meal!

Next, add the tomatoes and broth. (Some recipes called for ketchup at this step. We used the tomatoes and broth as a substitute). Cover and simmer over low/medium heat for 45 minutes.

Image

During this time I washed a few dishes, started some rice for our side dish and prepared the “gravy”. To make this you simply whisk together the water, flour, and soy sauce.

Image

Don’t worry if the flour doesn’t completely break up. It will cook down once it is in the pot.

Andrew also used this time to sautรฉ mushrooms, garlic, and serrano peppers to add to his serving of steak.

Image

After 45 minutes, stir the gravy into the steak and cook for another 5 minutes, allowing the gravy to thicken.

Image

We served this over rice and it was the perfect compliment.

Image

I wouldn’t change a single thing about this recipe. We cannot rave about it enough. It was very inexpensive and most of the ingredients we had on hand. It was very easy and didn’t take long to prepare. It also left our house smelling so good that when my brother-in-law came over later that night he asked what we had for dinner because it smelled so good!

What are some of your favorite fall/winter comfort foods? Have you found ways to make them healthier?

5 thoughts on “What’s For Dinner?

  1. Oh my gosh, yum! I love stew, but I can’t cook it in the summer because it heats up the entire apartment way too much. One of the things I am looking forward to in the fall is cooking up some stew. This recipe looks great. I struggle with getting veggies in my diet too (I’m actually doing a Veggie of the Month challenge on my blog to help out with that), so this is a recipe I’m definitely going to try. One thing that makes stew even easier – buy “beef stew” from the grocery store, and you don’t even have to cut up the meat!

  2. We buy “beef stew” as well to save us from having to cut it up! Great minds think alike ๐Ÿ˜‰ I also love stews, especially in the Crock-Pot so I don’t have to cook after getting home from work. I like the idea of a Veggie of the Month, I’ll have to read about it on your blog and check it out. I don’t like raw vegetables and I wish I did-they are so good for you! I figure that if I can get myself to like them cooked (which is a BIG step) then just maybe I’ll eventually like them raw at some point. Thanks for reading!

    *~Lesley~*

Leave a Reply

