September Goals

It is already September 4th?!?! Time flies when you are having fun and are enjoying life, huh? I absolutely love this time of year! Autumn and winter are my favorite seasons-the colors, the crisp air, the food, the holidays…it’s the best!

I especially love autumn because of the sense of routine our family feels with our son back in school. With Connor back in school we tend to cook more at home, spend more time with just the three of us and our weekends are usually spent tailgating or apple picking. I could write a whole post on why I love autumn, but this is supposed to be about my September goals so I better get to them!

*-Cook One New Recipe A Week-*

We were really good at this last year and I’m so ready to get back into this habit. I like to try new recipes from Cooking Light Magazine (thanks for the subscription, Mom!). I have also found some yummy and healthy recipes from Pinterest. Do be careful with Pinterest though, some recipes that are deemed “healthy” truly are not. I like trying out a new recipe once a week because it is always good to have a new “go-to” recipe. Also, Andrew and I both really like to cook and having a “New Recipe Night” is usually a date night with us both in the kitchen working together to create something yummy to share.

*-Meatless Mondays-*

Again, we did this last fall and it helped in my weight loss and it also just made us feel good that day. Meatless MondaysΒ can sometimes be a challenge for me because I don’t have many meatless recipes. But, this is where the website in the link is helpful. It has recipes and we have also pledged to go meatless on Monday through the website. My goal is to go meatless every Monday in September but I am hoping to do it through the end of winter.

*-PR My 5K-*

A 5K doesn’t sound like much when I have run 7 of them already this year but I don’t want to run a race with too much milage before my 10-Miler in Disney World next month. For the past few months I have focused on racing in 8K and 10K events so it will be refreshing to go back to a 5K. Our weekends are already pretty full this month so I haven’t decided which one I’ll run in yet.

*-Take One Class A Week-*

I have really enjoyed taking at least one class a week at our YMCA. The Yoga/Pilates class has been excellent lately and Andrew and I both work up a pretty good sweat. Zumba wasn’t that great last month but I’m willing to try it again. I would also like to take a class I haven’t tried before. What are some of your favorites?

*-Read One Book Of The Bible-*

My goal last month was to read two books of the Bible and I read three. I cannot emphasize enough just how important it is to get into God’s Word every single day. It helps me clear my head from bad thoughts and stress, my relationship with Christ strengthens and I find myself looking forward to reading more the next day. This month I want to only read one book, preferably a long one, that way I can focus on one instead of several.

*-No Going Out To Eat-*

This is probably the toughest goal that I have for myself. We really love going to restaurants with our friends but lately I’ve become so unsatisfied with my meals that I think it is time to call it quits for awhile. It is extremely difficult to eat healthy foods if you mostly eat at restaurants. Not only are menus limited but it is so tempting to order the bad stuff when I go out to eat. I’ve found that the best way for me to overcome this is to simply avoid it. It is a major money saver to eat at home as well.

I’m sure I’ll think of some other “mini-goals” for myself throughout the month but these are the 6 most important for me in September. I’m hoping these goals will better prepare me for the big runDisney Tower of Terror 10-Miler in OctoberΒ which is in 29 days (ah!).

What goals do you have for yourself in September?

One thought on “September Goals

  1. I love your Meatless Monday goal! I have been wanting to do a Meatless Monday for a while, but I struggle to find veggies that I love, so it’s hard. I will check out that website.

    I love, love, LOVE Pilates and blab about it all the time, so I’m glad you’re enjoying your YMCA class!

    Glad I found you through the Twitter chat.

Leave a Reply

