My First 10K Experience

This morning I was supposed to run my first 10K. This is something I’ve looked forward to since February, when I set a goal to be able to complete a 10K in August.

Unfortunately, today was just not my day.

Last Saturday night I ran my 2nd 8K. I was feeling great and running pretty well until about Mile Marker 3. Around then both of my knees felt very heavy. They were stiff and sore and I could feel pressure around them. I’ve never experienced “Runner’s Knee” before so I thought to myself, “Is this what it feels like?”

One benefit of running that I’ve found is that you become more aware of your body. I knew as soon as my knees started acting up that I absolutely could not walk during the race (I often run/walk). If I walked for just a second I knew I would not be able to start back running. Running 3 miles straight was already something I had never done before and the thought of running another 2 was a little intimidating.

Image

I said a prayer that God would give me the confidence and strength to run the rest of the race. I took a GU CHOMP (orange is my fave!) and quickly felt God tell me I could do it. The pain never went away during the race but I was able to finish the race, running the entire time.

After the race my knees hurt pretty bad but over the past week the discomfort has left that area and has stayed in my shins. I battled shin splints last winter, but assumed it was because I didn’t have good running shoes and because I was about 60 pounds overweight. Once I got great shoes (Mizuno Wave Inspire 9) and lost a lot of weight, the shin splints subsided.

Image

But, now they are back. This week I’ve had a massage, taken an ice bath, elevated my legs, taken pain reliever, rested and have worn compression pants and socks but the shin splints are still there. I’m not getting any relief.

Last night I tossed and turned all night. I woke up several times with discomfort. I knew in the middle of the night that my 10K just wasn’t going to happen. As I said I’ve become more aware of my body, and I knew if I attempted the 10K I would either A) Not finish it and hurt myself or B) Finish it and hurt myself worse. Running, jogging or even walking a 10K was just not a good idea for my shins.

Image

So, my first 10K experience was one of me being injured. However, I feel more like an athlete. I pushed myself last week and accomplished something I’ve never even tried to do-running a full 8K. Just as important as finishing a race is how you recover afterward.

Another positive from this experience was watching our son, Connor compete in his second “Kids Dash.”

Image

Connor was about the 4th or 5th child to finish, and ran as fast as he could. It was incredible to watch him. After trying soccer and t-ball, our son has finally found his sport. He is begging us to enter him into a 5K, so we have agreed to do so, but first he has to practice this month at his school’s track. We plan to have a post on his training runs soon!

4 thoughts on “My First 10K Experience

Leave a Reply

